Moot Court Honors Program

: The UCLA Moot Court Honors Program is an intramural competition open to second- and third-year law students. Teams of students brief and argue a case created especially for the competition by members of the Moot Court Executive Board. The focus is on appellate advocacy, and the judges consist primarily of local members of the bench and bar. Competitors receive scores based 50 percent on their brief and 50 percent on their oral presentation. Based upon evaluations from these judges, advocates with cumulative scores placing them among the top 40 percent of all advocates participating in the Fall and Spring competitions become members of the Moot Court Honors Program. The top two advocates from each issue and side of the Spring Honors Competition (eight total) are chosen to argue in the Roscoe Pound Semi-Finals. The best oral advocate from each issue and side (four total) go on to argue the case before three of the nation's most distinguished jurists in the annual Roscoe Pound Tournament. The top 12 students who compete in both the Fall and Spring competitions are named Distinguished Advocates. The top 19 students who compete in both the Fall and Spring are eligible for various international, national and state teams.

2016-2017 Moot Court Honors Board

President Shelby Miner
Vice President of Internal Competitions
Hayley Moyer
VP of External Competitions
Simren Gill
VP of Finance
Bianka Barraza
VP of Cyber Crimes Competition Alyssa Shauer
VP of Judge Recruitment Anum Amin
Problem Developer Elizabeth Arias

Jenna Mersereau

Jacob Waschak
Jenn Milazzo
Logistics Assistant Adam Koslin

Erika Vignoli

Junying Shao

Michael Kramer