Lowell Milken Institute for Business Law & Policy

UCLA Colloquium on Tax Policy and Public Finance
Spring 2006 Schedule

Faculty Organizers: Eric Zolt and Victor Fleischer

Thursday, January 12, 2006
Class Introduction – No Outside Speaker

Thursday, January 19, 2006
Beth Garrett
USC Law School
Report of the Advisory Panel on Federal Tax Reform

Thursday, January 26, 2006
Michael Livingston
Rutgers School of Law - Camden
Rendering Unto Caesar: Religious Perspectives on Progressive and Flat Taxation

Thursday, February 2, 2006
Background Reading Week, assignment TBA.

Thursday, February 9, 2006
David Hasen
University of Michigan Law School
Unwindings and Legal Transitions

Thursday, February 16, 2006
Kirk Stark
UCLA School of Law
Time Consistency and The Choice of Tax Base

Thursday, February 23, 2006
David Duff
University of Toronto Law School
Rethinking the Concept of Income in Tax Law and Policy

Thursday, March 2, 2006
Victor Fleischer
UCLA School of Law
Two and Twenty: Partnership Profits in Hedge Funds, Venture Capital Funds, and Private Equity

Thursday, March 9, 2006
Robin Einhorn
U.C. Berkeley (History Department)
Democracy, Slavery and Taxation: American Tax Systems in the Colonial and Revolutionary Eras

Thursday, March 16, 2006
Dan Shaviro
NYU School of Law
Simplifying Assumptions: How Might the Politics of Consumption Tax Reform Affect (Impair) the End Product?

Thursday, March 23, 2006
Bob Peroni
University of Texas Law School
Exploring the Contours of a Proposed U.S. Exemption (Territorial Tax System)

Thursday, March 30, 2006

(SPRING BREAK)

Thursday, April 6, 2006
Edward Zelinsky
Cardozo School of Law
The Defined Contribution Paradigm: Why It Happened and Why Social Security Accounts Didn't (At Least Not Yet)

Thursday, April 13, 2006
Dennis Ventry, Visiting Scholar in Taxation
UCLA School of Law
Suspicious Minds: The Uneasy Relationship Between Tax Lawyers and the IRS

Thursday, April 20, 2006
Joel Slemrod
University of Michigan, Ross School of Business, Professor of Business Economics and Public Policy
Taxation and Big Brother:  Information, Personalization, and Privacy in 21st Century Tax Policy