Lowell Milken Institute for Business Law & Policy

UCLA Colloquium on Tax Policy and Public Finance
Spring 2007 Schedule

Faculty Organizers: Kirk Stark and Eric Zolt

Thursday, January 11, 2007 
Class Introduction – No Outside Speaker

Thursday, January 18, 2007

Larry Zelenak
Duke University School of Law
Justice Holmes, Ralph Kramden, and the Civic Virtues of a Tax Return Filing Requirement and  From the Great Gildersleeve to Homer Simpson

Thursday, January 25, 2007
Yoram Margalioth
Tel Aviv University Law School
Not a Panacea for Economic Growth: The Case for Accelerated Depreciation

Thursday, February 1, 2007
Robert D. Ebel, Deputy Chief Financial Officer & Chief Economist,
Office of Revenue Analysis, District of Columbia Government
Fiscal Federalism and National Unity

Thursday, February 8, 2007
Miranda Perry
University of Colorado School of Law
Why Limit Charity?

Thursday, February 15, 2007
Neil Brooks
York University, Osgoode Hall Law School
The Social Benefits and Economic Costs of Taxation: A Comparison of High- and Low-Tax Countries

Thursday, February 22, 2007
Tracy Gordon
Public Policy Institute of California
Fiscal Realities: Budget Tradeoffs in California Government and  Much Ado About Nothing?: Tax and Expenditure Limits and Government Responsiveness

Thursday, March 1, 2007
Dhammika Dharmapala
University of Connecticut, Economics Department
Which Countries Become Tax Havens?

Thursday, March 8, 2007
Rob Reich
Stanford University, Department of Political Science
Philanthropy and its Uneasy Relation to Equality and  Toward a Political Theory of Philanthropy

Thursday, March 15, 2007
Mihir Desai
Harvard Business School
Taxation and Corporate Governance: An Economic Framework

Thursday, March 22, 2007
Michael Keen
International Monetary Fund
The Flat Tax(es): Principles and Evidence

Thursday, March 29, 2007
No Class, UCLA School of Law Spring Break

Thursday, April 5, 2007
Karen Burke
University of San Diego School of Law
Social Security Reform: Lessons from Private Pensions

Thursday, April 12, 2007
Theodore Seto
Loyola (Los Angeles) School of Law
The Assumption of Selfishness in the Internal Revenue Code: Reframing the Unintended Tax Advantages of Gay Marriage

Thursday, April 19, 2007
Eric Rakowski
UC Berkeley Boalt Hall School of Law
Taxing Dominion: Unconsumed Gifts and Transfer Taxation