Professor Yeazell Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

April 19, 2011 – Stephen C. Yeazell, David G. Price and Dallas P. Price distinguished professor of law at UCLA School of Law, has been elected to the 2011 class of fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is among 212 scholars, scientists, jurists, writers, artists and civic, corporate and philanthropic leaders who will be inducted into one of the nation’s oldest and most prestigious honorary societies and independent policy research centers. 

Professor Yeazell, a member of the UCLA Law faculty since 1975, writes about the history and theory of procedure and about the dynamics of modern civil litigation. He teaches courses that correspond to these interests: Civil Procedure, Contemporary Civil Litigation, International Civil Litigation and an occasional foray into legal history.

A legendary teacher, Professor Yeazell has received the campus’s highest award for teaching (the University’s Distinguished Teaching Award) as well as for his research (the UCLA Faculty Research Lectureship). He was the first recipient of the law school’s Rutter Award for Excellence in Teaching. Active in service to both the law school and the university, among other positions he has served as chair of the UCLA Academic Senate (2000-2001), as associate dean of UCLA Law (1995-1998) and as interim dean of the law school (2009-2010).

Professor Yeazell is a frequent speaker and author whose books include Civil Procedure (7th ed., 2008), the most widely used casebook in the field, From Medieval Group Litigation to the Modern Class Action (1987) and most recently a course book exploring contemporary civil litigation and the legal profession, Contemporary Civil Litigation (2009).

Before studying law, Professor Yeazell taught English and history in junior high schools in New York City, an experience, he reports, that has made him appreciate the relative calm of even the most lively law school class. After law school, he clerked for Justice Mathew Tobriner of the California Supreme Court. He earned his B.A. from Swarthmore in 1967, his M.A. in English and Comparative Literature from Columbia in 1968 and his J.D. from Harvard in 1974.

Professor Yeazell will be inducted at a ceremony on October 1, 2011 at the American Academy of Arts and Science’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Since its founding in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock and other scholar-patriots, the Academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the eighteenth century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the nineteenth, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the twentieth. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.