Professor Stone Selected as the Recipient of the 116th UCLA Faculty Research Lectureship

March 12, 2014 -- Katherine Stone, Arjay and Frances Fearing Miller distinguished professor of law, has been selected by the UCLA Academic Senate as the recipient of the 116th Faculty Research Lectureship for the 2013-2014 academic year.  Professor Stone is being recognized with this honor for her outstanding record of accomplishment in the field of labor and employment law. She will give a public lecture on the topic of her choice in spring 2014, which will be followed by a reception in her honor.

Professor Stone, who joined the UCLA School of Law faculty in 2004, is a leading expert in labor and employment law in the United States. She was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship Award in 2008 and a Russell Sage Fellowship for 2008-2009 for her work on the changing nature of employment and the regulatory implications. Her book, From Widgets to Digits: Employment Regulation for the Changing Workplace, won the 2005 Michael Harrington Award from the American Political Science Association and was named Finalist for the C. Wright Mills Award by the American Sociological Association.  Her most recent book, Rethinking Workplace Regulation: Beyond the Standard Contract of Employment, published in February, 2013, examines regulatory efforts to balance employer flexibility and worker security in ten countries.

Professor Stone is an active participant in a number of organizations and committees, including the Law and Society Association, the Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics and the International Society of Labor Law and Social Security (Executive Board). She has served on the United Nations Committee of Experts for its Decent Work Initiative. Professor Stone is the founder and editor of the Globalization and Labor Standards (GALS) Bibliographic Archive and Database, which includes abstracts of journal articles about international labor rights and global labor standards.

Since 1925, UCLA has honored its most distinguished scholars by selecting them to deliver this special annual lecture. The Academic Senate awards lectureships to two faculty members each year, one from the natural sciences and one from the humanities, social disciplines or creative arts, with the purpose of giving the campus and community an opportunity to gain a new perspective on the recipients’ scholarly achievements and viewpoints.