Ziffren Center for Media, Entertainment, Technology and Sports Law

"Hollywood Analytica"
43rd Annual
Entertainment Symposium
March 15-16, 2019

Keynotes: Meg Whitman, CEO, Quibi, and Jeffrey Katzenberg, Managing Partner WndrCo and Chairman and Founder, Quibi

Symposium Recap

About the Entertainment Symposium

The Annual Entertainment Symposium is a flagship event for the entertainment industry, bringing leading lawyers, executives, agents, managers and producers, together with students for candid discussions on subjects at the forefront of the industry.  Conversations during this two-day conference have ranged from lively debate over the changing landscape of the entertainment business, to shared insights on planning for the success of original content in a vast digital landscape, and perspectives on filmmaking in newly developing markets.  Panelists regularly include top entertainment lawyers and key executives from studios and production companies, along with leaders from digital and independent companies.

Most prior Symposia Syllabi are available from the Ziffren Center for Media, Entertainment, Technology and Sports Law. To order, complete the syllabus order form and return by mail with check or money order. For any other questions or further inquiries please email ziffrencenter@law.ucla.edu.

Members, Entertainment Symposium Advisory Committee


Matthew C. Thompson
Sidley Austin LLP

Lawrence J. Ulman

Christa Zofcin Workman
Executive Vice President, Business & Legal Affairs, River Road Entertainment


Tom K. Ara
DLA Piper LLP (US)

Michael I. Adler '76
Lichter, Grossman, Nichols Adler & Feldman

Ken Basin
Sony Pictures Television

Hillary S. Bibicoff
Holmes Weinberg, PC

Barbara Boyle '60
UCLA Department of Film, Television and   Digital Media

David Boyle
Intersection Entertainment

Nancy A. Bruington
Latham & Watkins, LLP

Loan T. Dang '00
Del Shaw Moonves Tanaka Finkelstein & Lezcano

Robert A. Darwell
Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP

David C. Eisman ‘93
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP

Bonnie Eskenazi
Greenberg Glusker Fields Claman & Machtinger LLP

Jeffrey M. Freedman '93
Creative Artists Agency

Susan A. Grode
Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP

E. Barry Haldeman '69
Jeffer Mangels Butler & LLP

Kenneth Kleinberg '67
Kleinberg Lange Cuddy and Carlo LLP

Nicholas La Terza
The Point Media

Howard Meyers
Focus Features

Charles Moore
Wiggin LLP

Robyn R. Polashuk ‘94
Covington & Burling LLP

Elsa Ramo
Ramo Law PC

Caroline A. Raufi
Babok & Robinson, LLP

Benyamin S. Ross
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP

Greg Shamo
Co-COO, Relativity Media

Michael S. Sherman
Reed Smith LLP

Amy Siegel
O’Melveny & Myers LLP

Steven Sills
Green Hasson Janks

Christopher S. Spicer
Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld, LLP

Shelly Sroloff '76
Creative Artists Agency

Donald W. Steele
Hansen, Jacobson, Teller, Hoberman, Newman, Warren, Richman, Rush & Kaller, L.L.P.

Daniel R. Stutz
Stutz Law Corp.

M. Kenneth Suddleson '68
Eisner, Kahan & Gorry

Steve Tsoneff
Madison Wells Media

Craig Wagner
Paradigm Talent Agency 

Susan Williams
Paul Hastings LLP

Sophia K. Yen
Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP

Kenneth ZiffrenKenneth Ziffren
Partner, Ziffren Brittenham LLP
Adjunct Faculty

Learn More

Emeriti, Entertainment Symposium Advisory Committee

Roger Arar
Loeb & Loeb LLP

Jeffrey A. Barker '93
O’Melveny & Myers LLP

Leigh Brecheen
Bloom, Hergott, Diemer, Rosenthal LaViolette Feldman Schenkman & Goodman, LLP

Pamela Brockie '75
ICM Partners

P. John Burke
Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld, LLP

Gary O. Concoff
Troy Gould

Jay Cooper
Greenberg Traurig LLP

Ruth E. Fisher
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP

Keith G. Fleer
Keith G. Fleer, A Professional Corporation

John T. Frankenheimer '73
Loeb & Loeb LLP

David R. Ginsburg
Retired / Executive Director, Entertainment, Media, and Intellectual Property Law Program, UCLA School of Law

Joshua Grode
Irell & Manella

Michael A. Helfant
Amasia Entertainment, LLC

Michael H. Lauer

Douglas Mark
Mark Music & Media Law, P.C.

Laurence M. Marks '78
Manatt, Phelps & Phillips LLP

Lawrence P. Mortorff
Story First Productions

Christopher C. Murray
O’Melveny & Myers LLP

Scott S. Packman
Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios Inc.

Matthew H. Saver '78
Law Offices of Matthew H. Saver

Lois Scali '86

Rose PeBenito Shiner
Babok & Robinson LLP

Todd M. Stern
Weintraub Tobin

Gary Stiffelman
Ziffren Brittenham LLP

Robert M. Szymanski
Eclipse Law Corporation

Dirk van de Bunt '82
Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer, Guthy Renker LLC