Six Professors Receive Faculty Chair Appointments

October 29, 2020
Six UCLA Law Professors who received faculty chair appointments
Top row, L to R: William Boyd, Laura E. Gómez and Mark Greenberg. Bottom row, L to R: Jill R. Horwitz, Timothy Malloy and Adam Winkler.

Six UCLA School of Law professors, including leading scholars in environmental law, critical race studies, law and philosophy, health law and constitutional law, have received appointments to endowed faculty chairs. Four of the chairs are being filled for the first time.

The chairs recognize the distinction of the law school’s exceptional faculty members and are made possible by the tremendous generosity of UCLA Law’s alumni and friends.

Professor of Law William Boyd was appointed to the Michael J. Klein Chair in Law. A member of the UCLA Law faculty since 2018, he also holds an appointment in the UCLA Institute of the Environment and Sustainability (IoES). A renowned environmental scholar, Boyd has served as the project lead for the Governors’ Climate and Forests Task Force and is the founding director of the Laboratory for Energy and Environmental Policy innovation (LEEP). The Klein Chair was established in 2020 with the help of a generous donation from the Shapiro Family Charitable Foundation, with a focus on academics who have demonstrated excellence in energy or environmental law.

Professor of Law Laura E. Gómez has been appointed to the Rachel F. Moran Endowed Chair in Law. Gómez began her teaching career at UCLA Law in 1994. She also holds faculty appointments in UCLA’s Departments of Sociology and Chicana and Chicano Studies, and previously served as interim dean of UCLA College’s Division of Social Sciences. Gómez is a co-founder and the current faculty director of UCLA Law’s Critical Race Studies program. Her nationally respected scholarship provides important insights into the role of Latinos in American society. The Moran Chair was established in honor of former UCLA Law Dean Rachel F. Moran, with whom Gómez worked as vice dean.

Professor of Law and Professor of Philosophy Mark Greenberg has been appointed to the Michael H. Schill Endowed Chair in Law. He joined the faculty of UCLA Law and the UCLA philosophy department in 2004. Co-director of the UCLA Law and Philosophy Program, Greenberg is among the world’s leading legal philosophers and has produced several pieces of prizewinning scholarship. The Schill Chair was established with the help of a generous commitment from the Shapiro Family Charitable Foundation in honor of former UCLA Law Dean Michael H. Schill. It was previously held by Distinguished Professor Emeritus Eric M. Zolt.

Professor of Law Jill R. Horwitz has been appointed to the David Sanders Professorship in Law and Medicine. Horwitz joined the UCLA Law faculty in 2012 and currently serves as vice dean for faculty and intellectual life. She holds a courtesy appointment as a professor at the UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs. Horwitz is nationally known for her work in health law and nonprofit law. She served as the reporter for the American Law Institute’s first Restatement of the Law, Charitable Nonprofit Organizations. The Sanders Professorship was established in 2020 in honor of respected physician David Sanders, recognizing legal academics who have demonstrated excellence in the fields of law and medicine.

Professor of Law Timothy Malloy has been appointed to the Frank G. Wells Endowed Chair in Environmental Law. He joined UCLA Law’s faculty in 1998 and holds joint appointments in the UCLA Department of Environmental Health Sciences and the Institute of the Environment and Sustainability (IoES). A leading expert in environmental law, Malloy holds several leadership positions in the field and is the faculty director of the UCLA Sustainable Technology and Policy Program, which he founded in 2009. The Wells Chair, which recognizes eminent academics in environmental law, was established to perpetuate the legacy of Frank G. Wells, a generous supporter of environmental activism who died in 1994.

Professor of Law Adam Winkler has been appointed to the Connell Professorship of Law. Winkler, who joined the UCLA Law faculty in 2002, has built a national reputation in constitutional law and as a legal historian and has been featured in countless media appearances. His scholarship has focused on the Second Amendment and corporate constitutional rights, including two acclaimed books, Gunfight: The Battle Over the Right to Bear Arms in America (W.W. Norton, 2011) and We the Corporations: How American Businesses Won Their Civil Rights (Liveright/W.W. Norton, 2018), which was a finalist for the National Book Award. The Connell Professorship was established in 1949 in honor of Michael J. Connell, a prominent Southern California philanthropist. It was previously held by Distinguished Research Professor Richard L. Abel.

UCLA Law has 67 full-time faculty members and 34 endowed chairs.

See All
Feb 27, 2024

Ann Carlson returns to UCLA Law following a distinguished run as NHTSA head

Read More
Feb 27, 2024

‘The Gold Dust Twins’: How two UCLA Law students made a historic connection

Read More