Moot Court Honors Program

Moot_Court_logo

Mission: The UCLA Moot Court Honors Program is an intramural competition open to second- and third-year law students. Teams of students brief and argue a case created especially for the competition by members of the Moot Court Executive Board. The focus is on appellate advocacy, and the judges consist primarily of local members of the bench and bar. Competitors receive scores based 50 percent on their brief and 50 percent on their oral presentation. Based upon evaluations from these judges, advocates with cumulative scores placing them among the top 40 percent of all advocates participating in the Fall and Spring competitions become members of the Moot Court Honors Program. The top two advocates from each issue and side of the Spring Honors Competition (eight total) are chosen to argue in the Roscoe Pound Semi-Finals. The best oral advocate from each issue and side (four total) go on to argue the case before three of the nation's most distinguished jurists in the annual Roscoe Pound Tournament. The top 12 students who compete in both the Fall and Spring competitions are named Distinguished Advocates. The top 19 students who compete in both the Fall and Spring are eligible for various international, national and state teams.

2018-2019 Moot Court Honors Board

President Taylor Mangan mangan2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
VP Internal Competitions Samuel Kennedy kennedy2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
VP External Competitions Abel Rodriguez III rodrigueza2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
VP of Cybercrimes Competitions Max Shapiro shapirom2020@lawnet.ucla.edu
VP of Judges Faust Petkovich petkovich2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
VP of Special Competitions    Kyle DeCamp decamp2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
VP Scoring and Finance James Darling darling2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
Problem Developer, Fall Scott Tan tan2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
Problem Developer, Fall Mel DeCandia decandia2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
Problem Developer, Spring Seth Victor victor2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
Problem Developer, Spring Margaret Flodeen flodeen2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
Problem Developer, Cyber Billy Wardlaw wardlaw2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
Problem Developer, Cyber Tate Harshbarger harshbarger2019@lawnet.ucla.edu
Logistics Coordinator Jessica Behmanesh behmanesh2020@lawnet.ucla.edu
Logistics Coordinator Allie Begin begin2020@lawnet.ucla.edu
Social Media Outreach Coordinator Alex Randolph randolph2020@lawnet.ucla.edu
Outreach Coordinator Sonni Waknin waknin2020@lawnet.ucla.edu
Finance Assistant Mike Greenberg greenbergm2020@lawnet.ucla.edu
VP of Judges Assistant Thilini Chandrasekera chandrasekera2020@lawnet.ucla.edu
Cyber Crimes Assistant Deeksha Kohli kohlid2020@lawnet.ucla.edu
Cyber Crimes Assistant Genevieve Javidzad javidzad2020@lawnet.ucla.edu