Lowell Milken Institute for Business Law & Policy

UCLA Colloquium on Tax Policy and Public Finance
Spring 2013 Schedule

Faculty Organizers: Jason Oh, Kirk Stark and Alexander Wu

*If a paper is not posted, it is intended only for workshop attendees.

Thursday, January 17, 2013
Nancy Staudt
USC Law School
The Supercharged IPO

Thursday, January 24, 2013
Alex Raskolnikov
Columbia Law School
Irreparable Acts: A Common Threat to Markets, Firms, and the Fisc

Thursday, January 31, 2013
Mitchell Kane
NYU School of Law
Transfer Pricing, Integration, and Novel Intangibles: A Consensus Approach to the Arm's Length Standard

Tuesday, February 5, 2013*
Joshua D. Blank
NYU School of Law
Collateral Compliance

Thursday, February 14, 2013
Sarah Lawsky
UC Irvine Law School
How Tax Models Work

Thursday, February 28, 2013
Roberta Mann
University of Oregon Law School
Economists are from Mars, Lawyers are from Venus: The Tax Policy Implications of Communication Failure

Thursday, March 7, 2013
Day Manoli
UCLA Economics
The EITC Goes to College: Evidence Based on Income Tax Data and Policy Nonlinearities

Thursday, March 14, 2013
Darien Shanske
Hastings Law School
Modernizing the Property Tax

Thursday, March 21, 2013
Itai Grinberg
Georgetown Law Center
Improbable Bedfellows: Emerging Countries and Financial Institutions in the Battle Over Taxing Offshore Accounts

Thursday, April 4, 2013
Yair Listokin
Yale Law School
We the People Fix the Budget: Americans' Preferences for Revenue Increases and Spending Cuts