The M.L.S. Program: Professional Advancement through the Study of Law

Designed for professionals who need to understand the law but not become practicing lawyers. Flexible options to work and learn at the same time.

What is a Master of Legal Studies?
This program provides graduate‐level legal education for non‐lawyers whose professional success will be aided by obtaining a working knowledge of the law. Earn a master's degree that is ideal for non-lawyers in any field – from the private, nonprofit or government sectors – who need to understand complex legal matters and navigate laws, regulations, disputes, or attorneys. 

Why earn a Master of Legal Studies?
With a priority on flexibility and convenience, this program is suitably designed for both working professionals and full-time students who are looking to learn the language of the law, challenge themselves, and create new career opportunities. 

Hover or click the testimonials below to learn why these students chose to attend our program at the #1 Public University in America and the #1 law school in Southern California:

MLS Student Victoria Hong

Law is a part of every single profession. Knowing the law and knowing how to think like a lawyer puts you well ahead in any position.

Victoria Hong (MLS '24)
Director of Corporate Communications
Delaware North Companies

MLS Student Aaliyah Williams

This program can help you expand your comfort of the law. It challenges you to use your brain in different ways and it's helping me expand my work and my own business.

Aaliyah Williams (MLS '23)
Just a Rebel, Inc.

MLS Student Daniel Lafeir

The skills I have learned even after just one semester have directly made an impact on how I approach my work.

Daniel LaFeir (MLS '23)
Lead Consultant Developer

MLS Student Patrick Ip

In any business, you want to pick up the skillset of thinking like a lawyer; how lawyers argue and the techniques they use. You already start to pick that up when you go through the classes and can apply that to your current role and to a wide range of topics.

Patrick Ip (MLS '23)
Chief Executive Officer
Solar Plus Investments


Program Highlights

  • Acquire the legal knowledge and skills to enhance and accelerate your career
  • Unparalleled access to an elite law school, with an opportunity to select from virtually its entire curriculum
  • Complete in nine months full-time or 2-4 years part-time
  • Flexibility for the working professional
  • 8 specializations to tailor the program to your career interests
  • Engage in our vibrant community and join UCLA's extensive alumni network
  • Learn from world-renowned faculty who are leading experts in their fields of law
  • Scholarships and financial aid available
MLS '21 Graduate Dave Holtkamp
I recently started a position with the Walt Disney Company. I had been trying for years to work there, but never broke through. After I updated my resume with my MLS degree from UCLA, I started to get more interviews and eventually was offered a position! I truly feel that my MLS degree contributed significantly to landing a role at Disney.
Dave Holtkamp (MLS '21)
Human Resources Business Partner
The Walt Disney Company


Program Structure

A flexible curriculum to meet the needs of the working professional.

M.L.S. Core Curriculum

These core courses are designed exclusively for M.L.S. students. They are taught on Tuesdays and Thursdays on campus starting at 6:30 pm.

M.L.S. Elective Courses

Specializations offered:
1. Business Law
2. Employment & Human Resources Law
3. Entertainment & Media Law
4. Environmental Law
5. Government & National Security Law
6. Health Law & Policy
7. Law & Technology
8. Public Interest Law
9. General Studies


The capstone allows students in their final semester to deeply engage with issues relevant to their career focus or intellectual interest.

Specializations: A Tailored Curriculum

Business Law
Ideal for executives, investors, and those in wealth management and insurance
Employment & Human Resources Law
Ideal for human resource professionals looking to gain an edge in the industry and for those looking to enter consulting
Entertainment & Media Law
Ideal for entertainment professionals wanting to master the legal structures that make the industry tick
Environmental Law
Ideal for the private sector and scientific professionals looking to master the laws and regulations relevant to the industry
Government & National Security Law
Ideal for those in law enforcement, investigations, government, and criminal justice
Health Law & Policy
Ideal for health care professionals, compliance officials, nurses, and doctors
Law & Technology
Ideal for technologists, cybersecurity and data privacy professionals, and information security professionals
Public Interest Law
Opportunities in a variety of public interest fields, ranging from immigration to criminal justice to education and prison reform
General Studies
Students interested in multiple areas of law can pick their own curriculum.

*Students can also self-design an individualized specialization with approval.

MLS '22 Graduate Jon Deutsch
This program is full of problem solvers; people who, no matter where they are in their careers, are interested in taking it to the next level and delving deeper.
Jon Deutsch (MLS '22)
Community Relations Coordinator
Los Angeles Homeless Services Authority
UCLA Rankings and Alumni Network
MLS '22 Graduate Michelle Edgar
There are so many distinguished alumni who are part of this network. To be in Los Angeles, in the hub of this business, with such a strong support system really sets this program apart. I look forward to finding my future business partners, friends, and colleagues.
Michelle Edgar (MLS '22)
Head of Strategic Partnerships
LiveXLive Media, Inc.

M.L.S. by the Numbers



See All
Aug 25, 2021

Talented and Diverse New Class Joins UCLA Law

Read More
Sep 28, 2020

UCLA Law Welcomes First Students in Its Master of Legal Studies Program

Read More